Trucking Incident Memo Report

In this assignment, I began with another scenario in the textbook. I took on the role of a traffic manager whose company had four accidents in one week. I had to write a memo to the president of the company, Michael Spangler. Once again we had to stick to the scenario from the textbook and make up other information as necessary.

I received a 90 on this assignment. Here are some tips that helped me succeed in this assignment:

  • Only Include Important Details: In my first draft, I included many details to make a complete story to Mr. Spangler. This is not necessary. Imagine a family member was in an accident. Do you care when the accident was or how much it cost? No, you care first if they are okay or about what injuries they have. Include these kinds of details in your memo first. Other details such as cost, where the product ended up, etc. are also important to include secondary.
  • Take Advantage of Early Grading: I took advantage of Dr. Fricke’s early grading option. The first time I received my memo back, I had a grade somewhere in the 40’s. This is where you can take initiative and show Dr. Fricke that you want to succeed in his class. Attitude and determination are very important to Dr. Fricke.

One thing I learned from this assignment is how to write an effective trouble report. I had to give Mr. Spangler a lot of bad news at one time. At the same time I had to make him feel secure that everything was okay. This is very difficult to do. When delivering the news, you have to calm their concerns immediately. Use wording that will help you achieve this goal. If Mr. Spangler can read the memo and still feel okay, then you have succeeding in writing a good trouble report.

Trucking Incident Memo Report

Leave a comment