Group Work Plan

This assignment was the first part of the major group project that lasted through the end of the semester. My group members were Sydney Cox, Jennifer Latch and myself. In this assignment we were asked to do two things. First, we had to write an outline of how our recommendation report would go. The outline could be as specific or as vague as we pleased. However, the more detailed our outline was the more Dr. Fricke could give us helpful advice. Second, we had to write a memo describing a timeline and planning report. This memo described what team members would do what and when.

My group received a 100 on this assignment. Here are some helpful tips on how to be successful with this assignment.

  • Be Honest With Your Group: This is where you plan your entire recommendation report out. If you have several tests the week the presentation is due – tell them! Your group can work out a schedule to where every group member can put in equal effort. Also talk with your group about your individual strengths and weaknesses. For example, editing is not my strong suit. Therefore, my group member Sydney did most of the editing for the group.
  • Get Started On This Assignment Early: My group found ourselves researching a topic to write about for far too long. The topic we picked was one of the first ones we discussed. We ended up scrambling at the end to get our Group Work Plan finished. This is not the way to begin this recommendation report.

One thing I learned for this assignment is how to be upfront with people I’m working with. I was in a wedding the week this assignment was due. I was not able to commit to the group as much as I would’ve liked to. I was able to pick up my slack later in the report. This is a very important lesson in my future field. As an accountant on an auditing assignment I will work in many groups. I will need to communicate with those groups if I cannot complete my work as expected.

Recommendation Report Outline

Group Work Plan

Leave a comment